Diplomat Excellence Help

un_dac

Hello,

I want to acquire a Dimplomat Excellence fountain pen from an add. The price is decent, the pen looks ok (in pictures), the seller informed it was gifted and never used and that he still has the warranty certificate. However, I have two concerns:

1. I noticed that the nib is slightly bent downwards from a profile picture (attached). I never saw the nib up close, apart from store windows. Is this how the nib should be? Is it possible that the pen was dropped on its nib and has damages?

2. The nib size is M. How is this compared with the M from a Sonnet for example? I have a Diplomat Traveller M which is ok and a Sonnet M which writes too thick for my needs.

What do you guys think? I have the option to return it upon first inspection, but I don't have time to try it so should I get it?

Thank you,

post-142745-0-14350400-1523948745_thumb.jpg

post-142745-0-95846200-1523952805_thumb.jpg

Edited by un_dac

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• un_dac

• The Blue Knight

• oneill

• langere

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

That nib is bent. Unless it's a very good price I wouldn't buy it. It's fixable but it might look deformed after a repair.

Diplomat nibs alone are quite expensive more than they really should be for steel nibs.

Out of curiosity how much are they asking for it?

Thank you,

Guess I'll keep looking

The seller is asking ~€30.

That's quite a good price straightening the nib wouldn't be very difficult at that price I think it would be fair.

Personally, I've never straightened out a nib and I'm not keen on trying it. There is no official service near me, however I found some small business services that claim they can recondition pen nibs.

Maybe if I can get the price even lower, I would be tempted to buy it. I don't know if a restored nib will write the same as a new one, however the loss would not be that much.