Left Handers And Italic Nibs?

steveycrow

Hi all.

Firstly excuse my ignorance, I'm learning and don't honestly understand the difference between italic/stub/oblique despite having a cursory read on Richards Pens. I only know (or think I know) that they all lay down an italic style line of ink. Or thick to thin and vice versa lines for a layman such as myself. 😊

Anyway, I fancy trying something different and was thinking about a pen with an italic nib.

I'm a left handed over writer. Any advice?

Many thanks.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• pajaro

• steveycrow

• Torrilin

• Maccabeus

I am a left handed over writer. I sometimes use italic nibs, cursive italic or sharp italic. The line variation seems to be different when these are used by a left handed person. The stubs are usually more blunt, and the obliques as well. Stubs and obliques, left oblique and right oblique, are a matter of individual taste. Left oblique is cut at a slant like the toes of the left foot, right oblique like the toes of the right foot.

Try them. You might like them. The way your writing looks with them might be different from the way right handed writing looks with the same nib.

"Don't hurry, don't worry. It's better to be late at the Golden Gate than to arrive in Hell on time."
--Sign in a bar and grill, Ormond Beach, Florida, 1960.

+1 what pajaro said.

I'm another lefty. One of my favorite nibs is a cursive italic.

It's like doorknobs or screwdrivers, handedness doesn't matter.

Italic can have sharp edges, great for calligraphy,

Cursive italic can have slightly rounded edges and be used for daily writing.

Stubs can have a wide tipping blob as a writing edge.

Some folks use the words 'italic' and 'stub' interchangeably.

Write with a light hand, and find the pens, nibs, inks you like to use.

Edited by cattar

I'm a left handed over writer. Any advice?

Many thanks.