Is It Counterfeit? A Yard-O-Led On Ebay

Kelly G

I'm not an expert or even a minor authority on Yard-o-Led pens by any stretch. But I do have a Grand Barley and this pen being sold as a Grand Barley is different than mine. (See listing 222389888157 ) In particular, mine has a sterling section and the nib is either white gold or gold with a silver colored (palladium?) plating. Also the nib is labeled differently on my pen.

So, is this a fake or did Y-o-L pens once come with two tone nibs and plastic or rubber sections?

May we live, not by our fears but by our hopes; not by our words but by our deeds; not by our disappointments but by our dreams.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Kelly G

• Barkingpig

• MikeW

• PAKMAN

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Yours is probably a Victorian this one seems to be a Viceroy.

PAKMAN

minibanner.gif                                    Vanness-world-final.png.c1b120b90855ce70a8fd70dd342ebc00.png

My Favorite Pen Restorer                                             My Favorite Pen Store

Vanness Pens - Selling Online!

It looks like it was swapped with one from an Imperial

post-855-0-88283000-1523304910_thumb.jpeg

Edited by MikeW

MikeW

"In the land of fountain pens, the one with the sweetest nib reigns supreme!"

Check out the London Pen Club.

Yours is probably a Victorian this one seems to be a Viceroy.

Nope. Mine is a Viceroy Grand Barley, of that I am positive. The Victorian is a decidedly different finish. As far as I can surmise from their website, The Y-o-L fountain pens come in three sizes: Grand, Standard, and Pocket. They come in three finishes: Victorian, Barley, and Plain; the Plain only comes in the standard size; Victorian and Barley come in all three sizes. The label Viceroy seems to be a style designation for pens. There are several styles of pencils but only the Viceroy for fountain pens.