Is Paper Something I Should Pay Attention To, Or Not?

Cassotto

The more I read about pens and everything related to them, the more I am aware that paper is an important part of the equation, and a part I haven't started learning about yet. I'm a newbie as far as pens and inks are concerned, anyway.

But I feel curious about something. When you discuss the different brands and sorts of paper, does that mean you have batches of all of them, and use them depending on their purpose and the pen you intend to use at each moment?

I mean, I love fountain pens, but, in general, I don't use them for anything too fancy. Especially nowadays, when handwriting is much more uncommon. I write by hand a lot compared with other people, but not that much. I work as a teacher in a high school, so, to begin with, I use a normal notebook to keep track of what I do each day with each group. And I cannot picture myself buying an expensive notebook just for this. I also mark the students' exams and exercises, which means I'll be writing in any old type of paper they have, if it's homework I'm marking, or in cheap copy paper, when it's provided by the school. Then, I must sign reports, minutes, receipts... And in my 'normal' life I write sticky notes to remember things or to tell others something, I have a small notebook to write down messages left for others on the phone (yes, some of us still use land lines), have a couple of pen pals, and keep a diary. I don't do drawings or anything.