Pilot Custom 823 Fine

m_osman

I am fairly new to fountain pens with a limited experience. Thus my experience only reflect my opinion.

I was ready a lot of rave reviews about the pilot custom 823 watching a lot of videos as well. I kept an eye for this pen for sometime, and finally purchased it, i wanted something that can write a fine line smoothly, everyone said how much it is a smooth writer out of the box without having to adjust anything with the nib.

I order the amber , the color is nice with the gold trim. The plunger filling system is very interesting , I really liked it. but when I started writing with it (yes i flushed it) the nib didn't impress me. I am not saying it is bad or anything. The ink flow was good but it was just ok , not so smooth as i would expect and not toothy or scartchy, I'd say it has more feedback, a bit of drag or control if you would say just that you know you are writing and a very small sweet spot.

My main problem wasn't the nib (although it didn't impress me much) the weight and how the pen feels in hand. I have smallish/medium size hands. when I started using the pen, I use all my pens unposted. it felt back heavy , it would feel it want to slip down while resting and writing thus putting more strain holding it. It did feel uncomfortable for extending period writing , I tried so much to like it but it didn't fit well.

I still consider my m600 the perfect balance in size weight and comfort.

Am I the only one who isn't so much impressed with the fine nib of the 823 and the comfort and weight of it ?

Edited by m_osman

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• TSherbs

• m_osman

• Kodiac136

• akrohn2010

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic