More About Lamy

SunnyShoes72

I am relatively new to fountain pens starting with a Lamy Safari and a Pilot Metropolitan. The metro was usually my go-to as it writes really smoothly and looks better. But the Safari was used for long writing sessions due to it's lightness. As I want to step up to better fountain pens, I have seen a lot of talking about the Al-start and 2000 but I am actually eyeing on the studio. Is there anything wrong with the pen causing it to be talked about so little? or is the pen just generally ok-ish and not really outstanding?

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• SunnyShoes72

• senzen

• ParkerDuofold

• Driften

Hi Sunny Shoes,

Within the Bauhaus design discipline; the Studio is probably it's most beautiful specimen.

I have one in brushed stainless, black, imperial blue, Reuben Ruby and British Green... and the solid gold nib version in palladium, (which gives an exceptionally pleasurable writing experience),... and I really enjoy using them.

I know a lot of people complain about them having a slippery grip, but none of their sections have given me that much grief... YMMV,... but if you have any doubts... go with the brushed stainless with the rubberized grip or the palladium with the matte, textured grip and you'll be fine. :)

But since you mention weight, I should warn you... the Studio is not a light pen... indeed, it can get a little weighty on a long writing jag... so keep that in mind, especially.

That said, I still like the pen well enough to own several. :thumbup:

Be well and enjoy life. :)

- Anthony

Hi Sunny Shoes,

Within the Bauhaus design discipline; the Studio is probably it's most beautiful specimen.

I have one in brushed stainless, black, imperial blue, Reuben Ruby and British Green... and the solid gold nib version in palladium, (which gives an exceptionally pleasurable writing experience),... and I really enjoy using them.