Valiant Vac-Filler - Durability And Ink To Use

Megaloblatta

I recently purchased a restored vintage Sheaffer green striped Valiant vac-filler and have two questions which I can't find answers to. They are:

1) Are the cellulose nitrate barrels of these pens known to degrade (crack, crumble), or is the celluloid pretty stable?

2) Is it safe to use Sailor Kiwa-guro ink, or might it stain the barrel?

I have never used a celluloid pen before and don't want to damage it. I am hoping it will be good for regular use..

I would be very grateful for your thoughts.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Ron Z

• Uncial

• Megaloblatta

• CS388

Top Posters In This Topic

They are very nice pens but there are two deeply irritating issues regarding them. Firstly, they are prone to cracks, especially around the barrel-section join and even the tiniest hairline will stop the pen filling. Cracks are very often fatal. The washer in the filling system can also come loose quite easily and end up stuck near the bottom of the barrel. Its an utter pain to fix and can happen very easily. I can't tell you about the staining of the sailor ink.

The washer in the filling system can also come loose quite easily and end up stuck near the bottom of the barrel.

Exactly what happened to my Valiant! I replaced the washer and it happened again, about a month later.

It's odd, because it didn't happen on my other Sheaffers?

OP: I've never used that particular ink - but never had any staining problems with other inks in my Valiant (Brown striated)