The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Left A Blue "j" At The Antique Store

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 craigs63

craigs63

Rare

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 11 March 2018 - 14:04

I'm a novice at this stuff, especially appraisal and repair.

I spotted a nice looking blue Esterbrook (pretty sure a "J" model) yesterday in a display case, priced $9.50.

I took off the cap, and the fins in the feed were either clogged, or melted together? I didn't try the lever (didn't want something to break

while the owner/consigner was watching me do it).

Assuming everything internal needed replacement, did I save $100 on repairs/parts to get a nice $50 pen? I already have a fixer-upper in green,

that I'll probably haul to the next Chicago show for a pro to look at.

Sponsored Content

#2 inkstainedruth

inkstainedruth

Ancient Artifact

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,886 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 11 March 2018 - 16:04