Obb For Beginner?

surferc

Hi all, this is my first post here. I'm a rookie in this world of Fountain pens. I recently purchased a Platinum LeGrand (146?) with a M nib. I'm planning to take advantage of the Nib Exchange program and get a different nib. I'm interested in getting nib with greater line variation. This pen will be used for mostly letters/cards instead of every day use. From the Nib selection in MB's site, I am leaning towards a OBB nib. I love the line variation. However, people caution me that the OBB maybe too thick/felt like and suggested a OM nib for me. Or should I stay away from the oblique nibs? Thoughts? Thanks in advance!

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• meiers

• Tom Kellie

• surferc

• AL01

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

An OB or OBB will give you maximum line variation on the diagonal strokes where a B or BB will have max variation on the vertical and horizontal strokes when writing. So it is a matter of preference on the direction of variation. I use oblique nibs all the time. I would not waste my time with an OM personally. Go OBB and if it b is too wide or not enough variation, invest a few more bucks in a custom grind to narrow the width or increase variation.

If you want less blah, blah, blah and more pictures, follow me on Instagram!

Try before you buy.

I love oblique nibs but there are experienced fountain pen users who dont get along with them at all. Ultimately, it is a matter of individual preference.

Are you close to a Montblanc Boutique? One that is well equipped would let you try their oblique nibs. They are not difficult to handle.

Edited by meiers

Thanks Zaddick and meiers. Unfortunately, I'm not close to a Montblanc Boutique. The MB dealers here don't have any oblique nibs to try.

You have committed to a first tier pen. The nibs will perform just as zaddick described.