Advice Needed For Smooth Flowing Antique Colored Ink?

kealani

Newbie here.

Right now I am using Aurora Black, Aurora Blue, Yoshizuku Aqua Blue.

I am looking for a smooth flowing "wet" ink that is antique color or sepia?

Something that is classic looking, easy to read so perhaps on the dark side?

And, one that flows well like the Aurora's. Also not permanent so easy to care for in the pen.

Thanks everyone for your help.

mahalo,

jim

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• kealani

• sidthecat

• eharriett

• senzen

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I tend to use Pilot Iroshizuku for wet inks. I personally like Tsukushi for red/rusty brown :)

post-134999-0-31424500-1519232217_thumb.jpeg

Dream, take one step at a time and achieve. :)

Sepia. Herbin’s Cacao de Brasil leans that way. As does one of the low numbered Kobe inks. 3? I’m not near my ink shelf right now.

Sepia and walnut are both historic brown inks. I’m not clear on the chemistry behind them, and it’s not as easy to research as iron gall ink. Not that iron gall is easy.

Herbin Lie de Thé is often recommended. I haven’t found a pen I like it with. Very lefty hostile dry time in my limited experience, but it’s one of Herbin’s big bottles inks, so I suspect my experience is of a bad batch.

R&K Sepia I found unspeakablely dry. Haven’t tried it in multiple pens yet, but it’s not a good sign if an iron gall lover is saying that the ink is too dry.

Kaweco Caramel Brown is more of a sepia color, and I liked it in my Kaweco sport. A little dry, but not so dry I’ll call it awful. And the dry time was excellent.