The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Best Inexpensive Fountain Pens For Clumsy People Who Drop Them?

• Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#1 mysterium

mysterium

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Silver

• PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 21 February 2018 - 03:20

I'm a fountain pen newbie. So far I've had a couple of Pilot Metropolitans. I like the pen, but I am quite clumsy. In both cases, I have dropped the pen and it's hit nib-first on my hardwood floor and bent. The second one didn't bend too badly and it's usable, but it's still a little damaged, and I want to get something new.

But I need something that will stand being dropped like that! I am clumsy. I KNOW I am going to keep dropping pens. Or is there another solution? 

Sponsored Content

#2 LizEF

LizEF

Antique

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,725 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 21 February 2018 - 03:34

I'm not sure any nib would take that well, but I wonder if a light-weight pen, like the Kakuno (same nib, different body), might decrease the risk.  Just a thought.

Alternately, superglue your fingers to the grip?

Hmm.  Safari / Al-Star nibs are short, with thicker (more stout?) tines (or so it appears to me).  Perhaps they would be less likely to bend on impact?

Sorry, I have no personal experience and don't really want to try experiments ;) but some thoughts for what it's worth...

Edited by LizEF, 21 February 2018 - 03:34.

#3 ErrantSmudge

ErrantSmudge

Collectors Item

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,046 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 21 February 2018 - 03:38

Maybe Jinhao (x450 or x750) or other really cheap (less than $5) Chinese-made pens?

#4 Corona688

Corona688

Inkfingered Crackpot

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 758 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 21 February 2018 - 03:40