Greetings From Columbus, Ohio, Usa

pitonyak

Hello from the center of Ohio in the USA.

My first exposure to fountain pens was when I met my best friend Fred, who seemed to dabble in more things than seemed reasonable.

So, as odd as it seems, my first fountain pen was a Mont Blanc purchased by Fred's Mother while she was visiting Germany back in the mid 1980's. It had never occurred to me that a pen might cost more than $20, so, I carried it everywhere I went; even while mucking out stalls on the farm.

Somewhere in there, I obtained some pens from my Mother (that she used in College), and then I inherited a few from my Grandparents; who were not able to tell me what they did with them, but one of them is out for repair since it never worked and it is kind of sentimental to me.

when Fred died unexpectedly about two years ago, I inherited a bunch of stuff, and I have been wading through it for the last two years. One of the things that I inherited was many of his Fountain pens, which I am finally getting around to wading through. Some of these pens I gave away on this forum in the PIF section. Some of the pens were put away wet, so to speak, so I have been learning to clean then pens and I have been introducing my wife and my 12 year old to the joy of a Fountain Pen.

In the last couple of days, I have ordered low end, and some higher end fountain pens to try while I look for the sweet spot. I found that I really enjoy the Pilot Metropolitan pens; I think that I prefer the Fine tip nib.

I noticed that there is a group here in central Ohio that meets, maybe monthly, so I will try to connect with them...

I have found the people here to be very helpful and knowledgeable, which is why I chose to give away six pens on the PIF; a way to say thank you.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• pitonyak

• inkstainedruth

• jar

• OCArt

Pitonyak,