The Perfect Work Pen

junkinduck

If you could build the perfect fountain pen to carry to work what would it be. We all have different wants and needs. So here is my current idea of a perfect pen for work:

I am a maintenance tech in a big chemical plant. A ball point would be so practical but I use a rotating line of economical pens.

My perfect pen would be a steel nib, anodized aluminum, vanishing point. Prefer blue and under $50 so a damage or loss wouldnt hurt as bad.

I need one handed fast action. No cap to remove or drop, Steel nib that will do carbon copys. Body that wont break when I lean over equipment and rest my weight on it. And while Im dreaming the clip would be easy to replace if it gets sprung.

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Inky_paws

• junkinduck

• TSherbs

• AL01

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I think you just described a Pilot Vanishing point. But $50, I rather doubt it, probably more like $90 used. I have a Pilot Vanishing Point and it is a great durable pen and I like the fact I don't have to worry about a lost cap. I have a fine which sips ink so though the ink capacity isn't great a little bit goes a long way. The clip is pretty solid and I don't think likely to be sprung. It might take a bit to get used to how you hold it because of the clip but the clip encourages you to hold the pen with the nib correctly oriented.

Hi Junk,

Yes... as Linear said... you've described a VP for the most part.

I'm really surprised the Chinese haven't got around to knocking them off with a cheaper alternative. :unsure:

Not that I'm in favor of knock-offs... I'm just surprised.

Yeah, I think a used VP is probably your best option for now.

Be well and stay safe. :)

- Anthony

It's a work pen and is going to be worked. I really don't think the cost is such a big issue (assuming you can find the money) because the pain of paying for it will fade very quickly.