The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Back On The Slippery Slope

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Sesheta

Sesheta

Mint

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPip
  • 67 posts

Posted 12 January 2018 - 20:26

I haven't posted here in a few years although I do pop in to have a look from time to time but I had to share my latest find. My daily writers are 4 SJs. I was a journalist for years reporting the courts and got into Esties for the shorthand nibs. I do Teeline so use the Gregg nibs. I've been on the look out for a 9128, the Pitman nib, for ages so when I saw one come up on what initially looked like a plain black LJ for a very low starting price I bid on it. There was also an Osmiroid 75 in the lot. When they arrived I discovered that the Estie is actually a dark green LJ like a pastel. It's an English one. The Osmiroid also came with a surprise, a steel Osmiroid shorthand nib. The Estie will need a new sac, but I did most of my SJs so I think I remember how. The only thing I'm worried about is getting in. I know the plastic used for the pastels is more fragile. Would this be the same? And if it is how do I get the section off? I only have the Ebay picture for now but I'll take better pics tomorrow. It's a lovely British racing green. Looks lovely with the chrome trim. Apologies for the less than elegant prose. I'm writing this on my phone! I just wanted to tell someone. My husband doesn't get my obsession with Esties. 

Attached Images

• s-l400.jpg

Edited by Sesheta, 12 January 2018 - 20:53.

Sponsored Content

#2 inkstainedruth

inkstainedruth

Ancient Artifact

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,394 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 12 January 2018 - 21:56

That blue one is an interesting color.  Is that the Osmiroid?