Tell Us Why Do You Love Montbanc Pens?

Hector67

I wrote the the lines bellow in the First Stop Forum. So it made me wonder about the reasons that trigger your love for MB FPs. So let's hear it!

I love Fountain Pens, I have written with one since I was 14. My first FP was a MB 149, given to me by my grandpa when entered highschool back in '82. This pen was my only FP for 30 years and had never needed a visit to service until five years ago when I sent it for polish and cleaning so I could pass it on to my second son. So, when talking durability, 30 years in continous service for a plastic pen is not bad at all. The pen returned with a new feeder, body polished and shinning, and a brand new metallic piston. I have over 20 MBs now, most are LEs purchased new.

I am a desk business rat. I use my pens for notes and signing. I am not a caligraphy expert, I don't have a journal and I only have extended writting sessions when outlining the next business. I do preffer the ink on paper feeling rather than the keyboard - screen experience, so I write with a FP on a nice notebook.

Why do I like MBs and do not mind paying the premium price? Because same as my grandpa, I believe all of my pens will outlive me, and I rather pass on a "jewel" to my offspring than just a pen. Same reason I buy mechanical watches, some quite expensive. This is why I buy my pens new... My kids know these are my pens, sometimes they even went with me when purchased. Some of them I have purchased with the purpose of giving to them when they complete something important in their lives, and they look forward to it.