Comparison Of Pen Shows?

ASCIIaardvark

I'm new to pen shows -- I did San Francisco 2017, and the Portland mini show 2017/2016.

I've heard LA is larger but more focused on vintage with more expensive tickets (tho I can't find a price on their site), and less focus on seminars/social-time. (this year I have a schedule conflict)

I have family in Pittsburgh and Philly, so I'm also considering the Philly/DC/Ohio shows. But none of them line up with my usual travel dates...

So if you had to pick one more show besides SF/Portland, what would you pick & why?

Or, if you've been to several shows, how do they compare to eachother in general?

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Ron Z

• ASCIIaardvark

• Maja

• inkstainedruth

If I were to pick one to travel for out of Philly/DC/Ohio, it would be DC hands down. It's the biggest and the most well known (even if it hasn't been the most well run in the last few years).

Current Wishlist:

Visconti, Visconti, and...more Visconti! (And some ST Duponts too). (Ok fine, getting on the Omas and Montblanc trains now too. Toot toot.) (And maybe on the Montegrappa one too, but only for the Miyas.)

Definitely DC. It's the biggest show in the country, and has the most variety.

Scientia potentia est.

I haven't been to any of the Midwest or West Coast shows. The shows I've been to: DCSS (3 times), Ohio Pen Show (about 5-6 times), Triangle Pen Show, outside Raleigh (twice) and Commonwealth Pen Show, just north of Boston (twice).

DC is the most prestigious. It's where companies trot out their new pens and LE inks. Plus, I loved the ink testing station (even though the lighting in where it was set up in the old hotel was fairly awful). And like Rutherford said, it's huge. The flip side, though? It's huge.... My first show was DC and I almost didn't know where to look, because I was so overwhelmed.