Ink Swatch Book?

tvradio

I was watching Pens_and_Tea's Youtube video of her top 5 pens of 2017 and she pulled out a FP swatch book that had spaces for pen, nib, ink, date and a space to mark down a swatch. [screenshot] I've seen testing cards on a ring but not a swatch book like this. (Then again, I'm very new to this hobby.)

Where would I find something like this?

“We could be heroes/Just for one day” ― David Bowie

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• tvradio

• lapis

• amberleadavis

• LizEF

Any notebook can be used for this purpose, in most cases you would just set up the columns that you want.

Brad

"Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind" - Rudyard Kipling
"None of us can have as many virtues as the fountain-pen, or half its cussedness; but we can try." - Mark Twain

fpn_1514370000__img_3480.jpg

fpn_1514370014__img_3481.jpg

fpn_1514370027__img_3482.jpg

.... and we have a winner, folks!

Many thanks. I'm going to the Philadelphia Pen show in a couple of weeks - I'll keep an eye out for Vanness, or see if there is a similar book I like.

Edited by tvradio

No harm meant, but you can simply use any plain ol' sheet of A4 (or in North America 8 ½ x 11) paper -- or smaller, for that matter -- and write down what pen's using what and after a while store the whole inventory together. I don't need a whole, separate book/booklet for this. But your idea is good and I still wonder why some folks keep on asking how they can ever tell who was filled with what and when! :)

Life is too short to drink bad wine (Goethe)

I tried keeping this info in a notebook, but I found myself taking a lot of time looking for the page a pen was on to see what ink was in it. So I got a stack of Nock 3 x 5 note cards. The pen is written in at the top, and the dates and inks below. The cards are kept in alphabetical order by pen, so it's quick and easy.

Rationalizing pen and ink purchases since 1967.