Pelikan 500 500N And 500Nn

kevennufc

I noticed some pens put on sale in eBay with 500 features like gold cap and turning nob but the barrel is marked 400.

Wanna ask is that genuine or a replacement barrel.

And on the topic of 500 500n and 500 nn what is usually marked on the barrel as some are with the nib size marked in the barrel as well some are not.

I am a complete newbie who is fascinated by the gold colour of these pelikans. Hope someone with this knowledge can help.

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• kevennufc

• Bo Bo Olson

• joss

• Chrissy

Top Posters In This Topic

My 500 has faint Gunter Wagner Pelikan 500.........very faint the way it should be, so it does not distract from the class of the pen.

'51-54 for the 500, and unlike the other '50-54 400's, there is no size marking on the piston cap....in they would have to mar the gold piston knob. The nib is unmarked, but I guess an OBBB...........needs 2/3s-3/4ths a page for a legal signature. A pure signature pen.....sadly I have nothing to sign.

I do have a '54 transition Pelikan 400 with the same lighter shade of tortoise, that has marking on the cap ring and nib marked, a B. Not on the piston knob. At first I thought that a 400n, but the cap is regular 400 short.....(the little bit of difference in the rounding of the piston knob is hard to differentiate if one don't have one to check against.

The 500n & 500nn, would have been made after marking the piston knob stopped.

I have a 400 piston knob marked OB, but someone may have changed the nib to OM, in it seems the same size as my 400 OM......I'm not going to complain too much, I have other OB's of that era.

For a long time I never really expected to own a 400 and now have 4, not counting the 500.

Do keep your eye out on German Ebay for a 500.....mine cost E160....like the one before it in passed auctions................stay away from "Buy Now Idiot" and US Ebay.....