The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Pilot Metropolitan Converter Leaking

leaking pilot converter

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 antoipod

antoipod

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Silver

• PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 13 December 2017 - 22:31

I noticed some ink on my Pilot metropolitan's converter when I opened it up yesterday, I cleaned the ink off and tried to fill it but got some ink on my hands from touching the converter and this is after cleaning the ink off so I tried to fill it with a piece of paper over the converter and found that the paper was inky after refilling the pen. I suspect the converter is leaking, it also looks really squashed and is not coming all the way back to its original state when squeezed. Since I am relatively new to fountain pens, is there any way to fix this and is this a normal problem? Also, where can I find another squeeze converter, I've heard the twist ones have a much smaller ink capacity.

Sponsored Content

#2 JakobS

JakobS

Far From the Madding Crowd

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,800 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 14 December 2017 - 00:44

The converter provided with the metro isn’t very durable with considerable use, as it is indicated as a “cleaning” converter by Pilot in the directions. The pilot con-20 is their larger, more durable squeeze converter, and relatively cheap too!
FP Ink Orphanage-Is an ink not working with your pens, not the color you're looking for, is never to see the light of day again?!! If this is you, and the ink is in fine condition otherwise, don't dump it down the sink, or throw it into the trash, send it to me (payment can be negotiated), and I will provide it a nice safe home with love, and a decent meal of paper! Please PM me!For Sale: TBA

#3 antoipod

antoipod

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Silver