Fountain Pens In Korea

BryanGomez

Hi guys i am a college student who is planning to become a ESL teacher in Korea and was wondering how easy they are to find in Korea.(not sure if i should just go to japan instead if they are hard to find in Korea)

Edited by BryanGomez

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Mannyonpil

• ink-syringe

• shinryu

• BryanGomez

I couldn't give you a definitive answer -- but I do have one pen from (probably, given the style) the 1970s or 1980s which (according to Pilot-USA) was made in Korea. Mind you, it has a Pilot nib and (apparently) a Pilot Con-20 filler. I posted pictures in another thread and was told that there was a pen factory in Seoul where my pen was likely made -- but I haven't been able to confirm whether it was made under Pilot's auspices or is some sort of frankenpen.

It's an attractive (if slim) pen, with cream color enamel stripes on the barrel and cap. But I had to have a crack in the section (just at the collar) repaired -- and I'm *still* getting ink on my index finger tip, even when I tried to wipe the nib and section this morning, and tried to hold it higher up on the section....

Ruth Morrisson aka inkstainedruth

"It's very nice, but frankly, when I signed that list for a P-51, what I had in mind was a fountain pen."