The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Heeyy Chicago

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jandrews

jandrews

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Away
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 12 December 2017 - 04:58

Edit: This might totally be the wrong place for this I realize, I just clicked the first board that seemed applicable and did not see the regional discussion section. Would a moderator move this or tell me how if need be? I feel stupid, I'm sorry

Hi all,

I get an error message when trying to search, so I apologize if this topic has been done and the info is out there.

I'm new to fountain pens, having tried to get a calligraphy hobby started a while ago and coming to the realization that I want to (should) clean up my regular penmanship first. Started to read/watch things online, researched what I should buy and...I'm sure you know how the story goes... 

What is cool around town? Any shops I should definitely hit, or stay away from? Has anyone taken a great workshop or class that they would recommend? Secret meetings going on at midnight in Graceland cemetery? Anything really.

I split my time between Skokie and North Center and have a car so anything within a reasonable (or unreasonable if it's awesome) distance is fair game. Looking forward to getting to know people on the forum.

Thanks!

josh

Edited by jandrews, 12 December 2017 - 06:41.

Sponsored Content

#2 Roger W.

Roger W.

Irish Wolfhound

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,178 posts

Posted 12 December 2017 - 14:14

Josh;