Heeyy Chicago

jandrews

Edit: This might totally be the wrong place for this I realize, I just clicked the first board that seemed applicable and did not see the regional discussion section. Would a moderator move this or tell me how if need be? I feel stupid, I'm sorry

Hi all,

I get an error message when trying to search, so I apologize if this topic has been done and the info is out there.

I'm new to fountain pens, having tried to get a calligraphy hobby started a while ago and coming to the realization that I want to (should) clean up my regular penmanship first. Started to read/watch things online, researched what I should buy and...I'm sure you know how the story goes...

What is cool around town? Any shops I should definitely hit, or stay away from? Has anyone taken a great workshop or class that they would recommend? Secret meetings going on at midnight in Graceland cemetery? Anything really.

I split my time between Skokie and North Center and have a car so anything within a reasonable (or unreasonable if it's awesome) distance is fair game. Looking forward to getting to know people on the forum.

Thanks!

josh

Edited by jandrews

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• jandrews

• Roger W.

• Misfit

• displacermoose

Josh;

The Chicago Pen Club meets on the third Sunday of the month (except not December) in Bartlett at 2PM at L2 Interactive, 792 W. Bartlett Road. This is a little far for you. I've tried to get a northeast area thing going. There is a group that meets there in April before the Pen show. The Chicago Pen Show is May 3-6 in Hoffman Estates at the Marriott Northwest.

Roger W.

Josh;