Experimenting With Flex Nibs

Hamletta

I'm fairly new to pens but love the way writing looks with flexible nibs. I normally like m or b nibs anyway, so I am tempted to try a wet noodle -- but I'm not sure what would be a good, not horribly expensive, starter pen. I don't think any modern pen will work -- I tried Noodler, but either I don't know what I'm doing or it's hardly flexible at all... Any recommendations?

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Hamletta

• Bo Bo Olson

• Ink_Chick

• AAAndrew

Top Posters In This Topic

For experimentation, try a dip nib. It will give you an idea if you like he whole flex movement as you write. If you’re interested in trying, I have a few suggestions on my blog. Check out Pen Basics and the posts on Using a Steel Pen.

https://thesteelpen.com/2017/11/18/the-steel-pen-table-of-contents/

“When the historians of education do equal and exact justice to all who have contributed toward educational progress, they will devote several pages to those revolutionists who invented steel pens and blackboards.” V.T. Thayer, 1928

Check out my Steel Pen Blog

"No one is exempt from talking nonsense; the mistake is to do it solemnly."

-Montaigne

Well I've found my noodlers needed a few weeks break in and it was a tad easier to use. You can also mod the nib to get alot of flex though I have not tried it. I looked into flex nibs and anything"wet noodle" from a reliable source is well over $200.

I'd say try dip nibs first and then decide if you want to sink the money into wet noodle fountian pens. I will admit I've found flex nibs a bit over rated for my personal preference. I'm sure others will chime in who understand it alot better then myself.

Noodlers is a flexible nib that requires a lot of pressure.........I have a lot of pens, and think the pressure needed to flex a Noodler's Ahab is semi-flex pressure. For flexible nibs that is a lot.