Platinum Cartridge Intl Adapter: Blue And Black Inks To Try?

tvradio

As a newbie I'm experimenting with cheap fountain pens: so far I have a Platinum Preppy (F), a Pilot Varsity (M), and a Pilot Penmanship (EF). Overall I prefer the Fine nib in the Preppy but I don't like the washed-out blue cartridge it came with. As I continue my FP journey I'll eventually look into the mind-boggling array of bottled ink choices but for now I'd like to stick with the convenience of pre-filled international cartridges I can use with the $2 Platinum cartridge adapter (which is in my Shopping Cart right now).

I use a variety of paper, from Post It notes to cheap Mead spiral notebooks to Rhodia pads, so I'm not sure if there's a type of ink to avoid or look towards. Since I'm a leftie I assume that a faster-drying ink would be preferable, though.

Aside from a deeper, bluer blue, I'm really liking the solid black in the Pilot Penmanship (though the EF nib may be a little too EF for me), so I'd appreciate it if someone could point me towards some appropriate blue and black preloaded international cartridges to consider that would fit in the Preppy. (And if there any catridges to stay away from, too.)

“We could be heroes/Just for one day” ― David Bowie

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• tvradio

• sandy101

• MsRedpen

• bluebellrose

You may take a look at Diamine cartridges line, quite wide selection of colours (their blue black comes to mind as deep, nice blue).

I would stay away from Majestic blue in Preppy, the feed did not cope well with it...

Otherwise, you can also syringe fill cartridges with ink from any bottle or sample vial.

Platinum blue black can look pale initially, but with time it darkens being a light IG. Use it for the envelopes as a water resistant ink.

LETTER EXCHANGE PARTICIPANT

Thanks. I was looking at Diamine's Blue Black and Oxford Blue cartridges....