Heart-Wrenching Bidding

surprise123

So I have just placed my first official bid on eBay for a used Parker 51. I'm really excited because it was a good deal. Do you guys know anything about used pens and eBay? I bought it from a reputable seller, and there is a return stretch of 17 days, but what are your experiences? This is literally the 2nd time I have ever ordered something on eBay** (asian parents rule out eBay as being a scam site unless there is a return stretch of more than 10 days) and I have no experience whatsoever with used pens. What is to be expected?* What can I do to protect this beat-up pen?

*Horror stories are to be accompanied by horrifying photos, please.

** Actually my 3rd time, if you count my lost bid for a Pilot E95s (the guy topped off my bid by 2 dollars and I failed to notice! :angry: )

EDIT: Woops, I forgot. There is a Parker thread. Sorry, Admins! If there is a way for me to move this, please tell me.

Edited by surprise123

• Replies 89
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• surprise123

• FarmBoy

• ParkerDuofold

• inkstainedruth

I've gotten a lot of my pens on eBay. Mostly I've done okay, both with the price and the quality. But I have been burned a few times (and in a couple of cases, quite badly). You have to ask a lot of questions and look at the pictures very carefully (and the seller might not necessarily know any of your answers -- and, in one case, outright lie: not to me, but to another potential bidder, so I was willing to go up higher than I might have otherwise).

You also have to be prepared for disappointment, because there's a good chance of getting outbid: either the bidding goes up higher than you can afford -- and as a kid in middle school (from what you said in your other post about bidding on the Teal 51), I'm betting that it might go for WAY more than you can afford -- or from getting sniped by someone else at the last minute. So, you have to be prepared to walk away at that point.