First Twsbi, Looking For Advice.

PenInkPaperDraw

Hi, was looking into buying my first Twsbi. The 580 is the one that i have in mind right now. I'm curious of what everyone thinks of the different model. Is there somethings i should look out for? I'm still new to the whole world of Fountain pen. Right now i have a lamy safari and a monteverde monza. I do appreciate the safari better then the monza.

Thank you in advance.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• prashant.tikekar

• BT_Summers

• PenInkPaperDraw

• anemography

The Pen Habit liked the 580 a lot and he's good at picking out what works and doesn't from my experience:

Figboot on pens as well gets enthusiastic about the 580:

I was going to go for the 580, but then I discovered the comfort of ebonite and detoured in that direction.

I have the Eco and Eco-T. I like the Eco-T more because the design of the section is more comfortable and decreases slippage for me since the sections can get slick if your hands get oily. The Eco-T is in my daily rotation along with the Safari. If you like the section of the Safari I think you'll like the section of the Eco-T.

I found the Eco to be on the drier side, but that can easily be remedied with a lubricated and/or wet ink (Sailor inks, Noodler's inks like AABB, Heart of Darkness and more) or if you need you can shimmy some brass sheets and easily open and align the tines. Pens_and_Tea describes the tightness in her video:

When I first started out I didn't like tight tines, but I actually prefer that now because I have inks that work well with that and it lets me adjust the flow to my liking since it's easy to shimmy them open incrementally if you take your time. Plus dryness is good for cheap paper.