Unknown Pen - Lots Of Restoration Questions!

Geo42

So firstly, im new to this as you will quickly tell so apologies for dumb questions. I recently bought a batch of vintage pens that are in much need of restoration, of which this pen is one. I have partly disassembled and given components an initial clean and i now have a number of issues i need help with. Firstly i have no idea what this pen is! can anyone shed any light on manufacturuer, model and date?

I would like to get this pen writing again and as you can see the sac has perished and i need to replace, my questions are:

1. how do i safely get the hard part of the sac off the section safely? it feels as hard as the section itself and its hard to tell where one begins and the other ends

2. how do i size the right sac for this pen? i literally have no idea what to buy

3. any ideas how i get the feed and nib out of this pen?

4. is it possible/needed to get the lever mechanism out for a clean? it seems to be working fine but id be happier if i could inspect in detail

Any help with this would be very much appreciated as i really like the styling of this pen and would love to get it back to former glory. Thanks.

post-27532-0-92624700-1512470198_thumb.jpg

Edited by Geo42

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Geo42

• pen lady

• CS388

• PaulS

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Well, your pen is a Wyvern 404 I think. It was their answer to the Parker 51, suddenly in the later 40s - early 50s hooded and semi hooded nibs were the rage. If you look on the barrel, you should see some kind of imprint. Now, as to your restoration questions:

1. You can carefully scrape and chip the old sac remnants off the nipple with a small sharp instrument.

2. Order 2 sacs, either a #12 and #14 and fit whichever seems the best.