My Hunt For A Parker 51

surprise123

So I have been meddling in the world of fountain pens for 2 years now and I'm due for an upgrade. I want to buy a used (obviously) Parker 51. The tricky thing is, my budget is $40. Could anyone tell me where I could find usable P51s for that price? I don't care about the look, the P51 just seems so practical instead of my TWSBI. No offense against TWSBI, but their pens just make me feel nervous.

Also, I've heard about Chinese copies. Are they worth the money? Some people have said they're ok to use as an add pen. Thoughts?

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• surprise123

• Glenn-SC

• georgeb

• mitto

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

My advice would be to save a little more until your budget will pay for a good usable Parker 51 in good condition, having said that I have just looked on ebay.com on your behalf and there is at least one Parker 51 in your budget

Edited by Beechwood

I agree, if you can save just a touch more you will find your possibles on eBay greatly increased. It is possible to find them very inexpensively though... I was the only bidder awhile back on a quite useable Burgundy Special for $19 :) Keep looking, you'll find one.

And I would rather have an old beater Parker 51 than ANY of the Chinese copies... personal opinion, ymmv.

Edited by BillH

"Inspiration exists, but it has to find you working." -Pablo Picasso

I agree you should save a bit more for a P51. Right now there is one advertised in the FPN classifieds for $50.00 (not mine).

You might be able to buy a good one for $40. but you may end up with one that needs work. I am confident that I won't be able to buy a good one for that price.

If you know what you are buying, you may get one for $40 or even less but with patience. Plus you should have parts in your parts box. :)

Khan M. Ilyas