B Nib Question

Dip1587

Hi All- I must once again ask all the experts for an opinion. I recently received my Saint-Exupery Standard Ed. and my Broad nib seems temperamental. I've never used or owned a Broad before so my question is regarding angle. If I don't hold the nib perfectly against the paper it misses on most down strokes (hard starts or misses occasionally regardless, which is a bigger problem). Once it starts going the pen is glorious so I'm wondering if I just need to learn how to use the Broad? My two other medium Montblanc's and countless Pelikan's in Medium have 0 issues so i'm inclined to think it's this particular nib but I figured I'd poll the crowd before sending it out.

I did flush the pen before use.

Also just an FYI that I found the LE Saint-Exupery ink to have the hardest time, which makes me think it's too thick (I'm sure there's more technical terms but you get the idea).

Thanks

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Dip1587

• Ghost Plane

• meiers

• Kalessin

Send it back. B nibs are totally forgiving, often more than Ms.

I’m noticing a recent pattern of MB sending out nibs that simply won’t write. Two attempts with MBNA on a M nib and they persist in sending back a skipping nightmare along with a condescending Email “how to fill piston pens” while totally ignoring writing samples sent in with the pen demonstrating the problem.

Do NOT accept a bad nib on a new pen and do it quickly before they can blame you for their poor workmanship.

When they’re good, they’re very good. (See my Skeleton pics in the OBBB threads) But when you get stuck with one of the dogs, you have to be forceful. Even if you have to ask for your money back to get their attention.

Send it back. B nibs are totally forgiving, often more than Ms.