Ballpoint Pen Ideas

basakadakara

Hello everyone,

I am a college student who takes a lot of notes (who doesn't). For the past several years I've been using a Pilot Vanishing Point but it started to get irritating in class (cartridges, etc). I've switched to a vintage Parker Jotter ballpoint and found that there is something missing from the experience.

This is my first real venture into ballpoints that aren't throw away Bics. I would like to purchase a great ballpoint that will last years. Price isn't too much of an issue as I will be using it every day for years to come. Naturally I have looked at some Mont Blancs - Starwalker, etc.

Are there any recommendations? I am happy to buy used and give a pen a second life. The most important thing is a good writing experience. I have rather small hands but find that a larger pen can be comfortable such as the VP.

Ballpoint with a twisting mechanism is preferred. Thanks!

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• basakadakara

• RayMan

• Conan the Grammarian

• pajaro

For me, the most important criteria for a ballpoint is the type of refill it accepts. I find gel refills to be smoother and much more pleasant to use as compared to regular ballpoint refills. My second criteria is the availability of the refill. Based on these criteria, I prefer ballpoint pens that accept either the Parker or Pilot G2 (which I believe is also referred to as the Standard International style) gel refills. My third criteria is how the pen feels in my hand. My last criteria is esthetics.

It's been a while since I've purchased a ballpoint pen, but based on past experience, the following ballpoint brands accept the Parker gel refill:

Aurora

Delta (certain models)

Faber Castell

Monteverde

Parker (obviously)

Pelikan

Taccia

Visconti

I believe that the following ballpoint brands accept the Pilot G2 (Standard International) gel refill:

Aurora

Conklin

Conway Stewart

Delta

Faber-Castell

Monteverde

Rotring