Music Nibs

shoutout33

Hello FPN! Just curious as to who makes music nibs in the industry right now. I'm new to the whole pen thing, but I'm enjoying myself tons! I understand that there are two manufactures that make nibs for most of the pen world: Bock and Jowo. I know that Jowo makes a special 1.9mm music nib for Franklin-Cristoph, but from there, it seems that all other music nibs are made in Japan and you can't get them unless you buy the pen. If I'm way off with this, please let me know. I do plan to get the Franklin-Christoph, but I wrote with a Taccia (the SE one made with some deer horn or whatever...) and it had a music nib on it. Did more research and found that they use Sailor and other nibs for their pens, so I'm assuming the music nib I tried was a Sailor. I tried the Taccia Savanna (not sure if it was the SE or not...) with a music nib FYI. If this has already been talked about, please send me a link. Thanks.

Daris '2017

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• inkstainedruth

• shoutout33

• EMQG

• Karmachanic

Several companies still make music nibs but I don't know of any that sell just the nib; you can though request a music nib as a special order exchange on a pen.

My Website

The Noodler's Neponset has a stainless steel three-tined music nib. The cost of the entire pen is less than any currently made gold music nib. The pen is a bit controversial but there are plenty of posts about it.

As far as I know (I have not used it) the Sailor music nib is basically a stub and quite firm. The Neponset nib is flexible by design but not very stubby when not flexed. I don't know anything about the other Japanese music nibs, or about vintage options, but they exist.

Do a search for "Music Nibs" on FPN. You will find some comparative reviews that might be of interest.