Double Broad Inquiry

Pravda

Hello friends,

I hoped to ask you if it may be possible to show me the lines of your BB nibs.

All my nibs that aren't Fs of Ms are mainly OBBB/OBB/OB and so I have limited experience with straight-up broads.

When I received my first BB on the Heritage 1906 Tropic Brown, it laid down beautiful crisp italics that I immediately ordered an additional 2 for my recently acquired pens.

To my dismay, the first one arrived and laid down a blotchy/stubbish script. As you see on the second line in the picture below, compared to the line above it.

fpn_1504799233__img_0544.jpg

And so I asked MB to get me another one, along with the additional one I am still waiting for. In the meantime, I had a go at grinding this.

fpn_1504799598__img_0799.jpg

In effect, I believe I reached the desired nib characteristic. But it got me thinking, does a standard or regular BB nib from Montblanc give you the 1st or 2nd type of writing in the first picture?

fpn_1504799681__img_0862.jpg

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Tom Kellie

• Pravda

• dubhe

• Ghost Plane

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I would say the first is more representative of my BB experience. But, as you know, all the nibs are hand finished so variation is not unheard of or unexpected.

I like to draw hash lines to see how much variation exists in the nib tipping. Maybe that would help you in seeing how much grinding you want to do to be satisfied? For converting an OBB to a BB you can simply draw the hash lines at a 45 degree angle and then rotate the paper 45 degrees to compare to a non-OB nib. I do this when trying to judge line width of a used MB that has no nib sticker.

If you want less blah, blah, blah and more pictures, follow me on Instagram!

Thanks guys for your opinion and pictures.