Caran D'ache Or Graf Von Faber Castell?

rh968

For my next major purchase I would like to buy a Graf von Faber Castell or a Caran d'ache, but I am totally new to these brands, and so would like some advice, please. I probably wouldn't want an Ecridor (C d'a) and with GVFC it would most likely be a Guilloche Chevron. C d'a seem on the whole more expensive, or is that simply the UK exchange rate being erratic? Any personal quibbles or favourites - all comments gratefully received!

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• CharlieB

• jar

• rh968

• gerigo

Top Posters In This Topic

Good question! These are two brands that have good reputations but tend to fly under the radar. I'll be interested to learn more about them.

CharlieB

"The moment he opened the refrigerator, he saw it. Caponata! Fragrant, colorful, abundant, it filled an entire soup dish, enough for at least four people.... The notes of the triumphal march of Aida came spontaneously, naturally, to his lips." -- Andrea Camilleri, Excursion to Tindari, p. 212

Looking around, I see more about Graf von Faber Castell than Caran d'ache, which has very few comments on FPN.

GVFC is my FAVORITE brand.

Their pens are incredibly well put together and I personally LOVE the design. I have almost all of the designs and even a few of the Year pens. However the one that always have with me are the Intuitions. I really love everything about these pens. The unique design of the body, the cap design, the way the thickness of the seamless grip allows for a very comfortable hold, and the snap cap. Of course the nib is amazing. I have so many of these pens and ALL write straight out of the box.