Lightfastness Testing

EbonitePen

IMG_20170817_145127-an1200x900an-dark.jp

Hello everyone,

I am currently conducting a lightfastness testing of 46 inks across brands to determine the durability of ink dyes and pigments against prolonged exposure to UV. This is not a scientific testing but I have a methodology that should provide satisfying results where practicality is concerned. As an artist, I'm conducting these tests to establish the permanence of inks and gain some perspective as to the reliability when used for artwork but also documents and other important documents. When selecting my paints, lightfastness is one of the most important considerations and it bothers me that this information is not provided by the manufacturers, although I understand why that is so.

Please, if you're interested in learning more, follow this direct link to the article on my website or simply visit my website (link in the description). I won't be copying the article here because it's way too long and contains too many images. If this is against forum rules for whatever reason I apologize. Please let me know what you think here or in the comment section on my website.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• EbonitePen

• vjones

• Tas

• inkstainedruth

A great idea. I'm very interested in this subject and will be following your progress.

Love all, trust a few, do harm to none. Shakespeare

Amazingly comprehensive! Thanks for doing this.

What time frame are you using to chart your progress? Weekly? Monthly? A variety of checks, or just once at the beginning and end?

Ruth Morrisson aka inkstainedruth

"It's very nice, but frankly, when I signed that list for a P-51, what I had in mind was a fountain pen."

• 1 month later...

Thanks all for the interest. My apologies for not replying any sooner, I was not notified about your replies!