The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Platinum #3776 Century Leaking

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 insparato

insparato

Dipped Only

• Member - Bronze

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 August 2017 - 21:33

Hi, 

Recently bought a Platinum #3776 Century UEF with ink converter, since using J Herbin Black ink in the pen, I can not go throughout a day without getting ink all over my hands, managed to get some on my shirt and has precipitated me posting. Looking for a bit of advice about what may be the problem. I have done no repairs and alterations so far, I'm pretty new to fountain pens in general. 

I've tried ink cartridge's and definitely much better, don't seem nearly as much ink, but the whole point of having a fountain pen is to be able to change inks. Some how I have a feeling the ink converter may be abit dodgy, thinking about replacing the ink converter in the first instance. Sometimes opening the pen there's ink all over the front of the nib, seems to end up on the body of the fountain pen. If I shake the pen drops of ink come out of the pen with ease and sometimes with ink changes it just bleeds ink onto the page. 

I like the feedback of the nib and how fine it is, may even to a tad too fine for my taste and body is a bit small, but generally I'm happy with the pen itself. 

Has anyone had this problem with the platinum 3776 ? Any suggestions ? 

Sponsored Content

#2 Bluey

Bluey

Somewhere between green and indigo

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,532 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 12 August 2017 - 22:37

the ink converter may be abit dodgy

That would be quite likely because it's not uncommon with Platinum converters.