Wet Noodle Or Just Superflex?

AD43

As I am new to this vintage flex stuff and my only flex experience is relatively stiff steel flex nibs e.g. No name dip pen; so to get to the point is a waterman vintage superflex stiffer than a wet noodle and better for me to handle, or is a wet noodle manageable for someone with no previous experience of them?

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Bo Bo Olson

• ReadyFireAim

• FarmBoy

• JonSzanto

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

A 'wet noodle' is HARD to use.

There is such a thing as "too soft/flexy."

I've used such soft dip pen nibs, and it is HARD to write with it. You NEED a VERY LIGHT hand, especially on the upstroke.

I suggest starting off with dip pens. If you can handle a soft dip pen nib, then you can try a soft flex nib fountain pen.

Remember if you spring the flex fountain pen nib, it will cost you $150+ to replace it. And you need a pen tech to do it for you.

It is a LOT cheaper to replace a $2 dip pen nib, and you can do it yourself.

Edited by ac12

San Francisco Pen Show - August 28-30, 2020 - Redwood City, California

www.SFPenShow.com

As I am new to this vintage flex stuff and my only flex experience is relatively stiff steel flex nibs e.g. No name dip pen; so to get to the point is a waterman vintage superflex stiffer than a wet noodle and better for me to handle, or is a wet noodle manageable for someone with no previous experience of them?

Depending on your skill, it could be neither of those are manageable for you.

How light is your touch? There is no way for us to tell. You'll have to try and see if you break the nib, splatter ink everywhere, or write perfectly.

2020 San Francisco Pen Show
August 28-30th, 2020
Pullman Hotel San Francisco Bay
223 Twin Dolphin Drive
Redwood City Ca, 94065

How soft compared to modern omas milord nib?

No idea how soft that nib is.

San Francisco Pen Show - August 28-30, 2020 - Redwood City, California

www.SFPenShow.com