Selecting A Pencil For 100Th Video On Youtube

clutchsituation

Hey Folks,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I run the "Clutch Situation" channel on YouTube.

I'm approaching my 100th video and I'd like to do something special for a review. Money is usually a huge barrier for me but I'm considering opening the purse strings a bit for this milestone. I'm looking into perhaps getting a classic or "legacy" pencil for this video. A pencil that has a legendary reputation and should be in a collection or is just generally a joy to write with. I'm setting my price limit at about 75-125 dollars. That's a lot for me. I'm a public school teacher.

I should also mention that I want a functional writing instrument with nice action. Being able to use it is important to me I don't want it to just sit there.

Candidates could include:

Faber-Castell Ambition Pearwood

I generally like Faber-Castell mechanisms and the Ambition line looks nice. ~100 USD

Pilot Vanishing Point H-1005

Obviously a legendary reputation, but I ask myself if it is really worth it to spend either 80 USD (low point) or 150 USD (several options on eBay) for a pencil that was considered economy back in the day. The 80 dollar offerings on eBay usually sacrifice condition. I've never held one in hand, so I just don't know what the action is like and how likely it is to break. How does it compare to the Pentel Technica-X? That pencil also has a legendary reputation but it is very clearly an economy pencil with lower tolerance manufacturing standards.

Pelikan P200 "Green Marble"