Hello From Belfast

GeoffreyHautecouverture

Hello everyone,

​I started to read some topics here a few weeks ago. I am a Frenchman living in Belfast since nearly three years now. I recently rediscovered the fountain pens. I used to write with a fountain pen before, and stopped to use it suddenly when I was a young student. I mainly used some gel pens up to now, mainly because taking fast notes was not practical with my old parker. As far as I remember I was using a parker vector with black ink cartridges. To me it was a good pen if you do not write too fast. Where I work we have two meetings a year with industrials -I am a last year PhD student- and all students are smart dressed, a good pen can be an instrument to impress people. I started to look at some good pens to take with me at the meeting and I bough a blue and gold Zebra Sharbo X TS10. This pen looks beautiful, but it is a multi-pen loaded with a mechanical pencil and three oil ink cartridge. So I started to look at some blue and gold fountain pens to take along the TS10. The only one I found was the Parker Duofold Prestige with blue chevrons and gold trim to be gorgeous. It looks perfect but it is pricey to me -above £450. Finally I took a look to aliexpress and eventually bought a Chinese BAOER 801. It is like the Parker I had but with a bigger nib, not bad for the price. Of course, I knew that I paid for what I get, but I did not plan to use it a lot. When I get it, it was a revelation, writing with a fountain pen when you do no need to rush. There is no way back now. So I started to look around and found some very nice pen and get addicted to them.