Reasonable Price?

Stitchpunk

*Waves hello*

I would like to solicit some opinions from experienced collectors if that's ok.

I'm in New Zealand, and on our local equivalent of eBay there is currently a MIB 146 bordeaux with the original paperwork, showing a purchase date of 1995. it looks unused and even still has the M nib sticker on it. The seller has a Buy Now of NZ$940 on it, which equates to around US$685. Would you consider that a reasonable price for this pen? A bargain? A bit steep?

As you can see I have no idea!

a VERY long time ago I used to sell all kinds of flash fountain pens for a living, but the only MB I ever got to own was the Hemingway ballpoint - and I sold that when I was a starving student trying to pay my rent :/

Now I'm starting to get back into fountain pens a little. Montblancs rarely come up for sale here, and if I bought one overseas I'd get hit with $NZ150 or more in import duties. I could buy this, but it'd empty my bank account. (Right now the most expensive fp I own is a Kaweco Liliput Fireblue.) I'd greatly appreciate any opinions/advice, thanks in advance!

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Stitchpunk

• meiers

• Chrissy

• dubhe

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

That price seems high for a 146. Perhaps a bordeaux is rarer.. but I don't think it's that rare.

That seems right high a price to me. I would think more along the lines of US$300-$350 more in line with a decent price. Even buying outside NZ and paying equivalent of about US$100 you would still be better off, and maybe not dry up your bank account.

*Waves hello*

I would like to solicit some opinions from experienced collectors if that's ok.