Should I Get The Hero 332?

Finepoint87

I have never used a Hero 332 before. Having experience with Chinese pens in the past, I have used quite a few WingSung chinese fountain pens, some of them are amongst my favorite pens. I have used & own some Parker 51 esque Hero pens. I have used the Hero 329 & the Hero 616. Due to quality control issues with some of my Hero pens, I am hesitant to purchase the Hero 332. I would appreciate it if someone could provide me with their experiences using the Hero 332. Thanks.

Sincerely - Finepoint87

Edited by Finepoint87

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Mech-for-i

• Finepoint87

• k3eax

• sciumbasci

I'd buy a Hero 100 or a 616 Doctor from a local reseller. Albeit it might be true that you pay a little extra, you can always send it back to the vendor for a refund or an exchange in case the item is defective. Isn't the 332 discontinued? I just checked eBay and the pens are listed as nos. if you are into that cap style, there are alternatives from Pakistan. Although not a real 100% match, it seems to be close enough (to my eye)

Edited by sciumbasci

Thanks for the info. I was also interested in getting a 565. Awesome 👍.

Sincerely-Finepoint87

The 33x series is pretty interesting. For collection purpose I would surely like to have at least one of them. Together with the 100, 616 they made up the classic trip of Hero's vintage hooded nib range. But for all intented purpose if I am looking for a new one to write with that writes without hassle I would recommend any of Hero's current offering instead. Say model 9601

If you really wanting a 33x Hero I would recommend the 335 its the aluminium metal barreled version always with a Fude nib ; its not always that you xan find a fude nibbed pen at this price no less a hooded nib version

I usually shy away from fountain pens made later than the 1990's. Vintage pens fit my style. I guess I really like the depth that their story provides.