Question On Abrasive Grit

farisromzy

Hi FPN people,

I'm very new to nib adjustment, and now I'm encountering a problem. I tried to smooth out some nibs. I started with a 1500 grit micro mesh, which turned out really well; no scratchiness.

But as I went up through the grit, suddenly my nibs got scratchy again, though not as bad as previously.

Have anyone encountered the same problem? Is there any particular ways to work up the grit?

Btw, I also also have 9mic to 0.05mic lapping film

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• farisromzy

• FarmBoy

• pen lady

• ac12

Have you checked the alignment of the prongs to see if it is correct? No sense in smoothing the tipping material if not. They should be exactly side-by-side without one being even a hair up or down.

Have you checked the alignment of the prongs to see if it is correct? No sense in smoothing the tipping material if not. They should be exactly side-by-side without one being even a hair up or down.

Yes I did. I flossed the tines with a brass sheet and got myself a nice opening. Then I aligned the tines, spending a lot of time thereat. It was a very cheap pen, and I noticed the shape of the whole tip was funny.

As I mentioned, I started working on the nib with a 1500 grit micro mesh, which knocked off all the scratchiness. But as I moved up the grit to polish it further, I noticed at some strokes it went scratchy again.

I don't know whether this is normal or not. Right now I'm thinking that I might've actually messed up with the pressure I was using and the time spent on each grit

Check the alignment at the angle that the nib contacts the paper.

It does little good to align the pen looking down the nib. Because that is not how the nib contacts the paper.

Did you round off and polish any edges?

Are you rolling/rotating the pen?

Light pressure.

There is no set time/duration to polish.