Newbie Looking To Troubleshoot A Pen.

Gilraen

Hello! I'm a newbie to fountain pens with a bit of a silly question. I'll try to give as much detail as I can. I got a Jinhao X450, a Pilot Metropolitan, and a few ink samples about a week and a half ago. The Metro seems to be working fine, but the Jinhao is giving me a bit of trouble. I'm wondering what I'm doing wrong so I can fix it. Photos are of my working with it doing some summer homework from my viola instructor. I've got no idea what the paper is. When we switched to a new kind at the office I work for, I was told I could bring the rest of the old stuff home for personal use. It's thicker than copy paper, and I used the same paper for both pens, so I don't THINK that it is an issue with the paper itself.