What Would You Recommend For A Pure Black Ink?

jppv

Hi everyone,

I am new here, and I've got a question for those of you that have already found the perfect bottle of Black ink for your Fountain Pen!

Looking for a pure dark Black bottle of ink for my new Lamy 2000.

I am quite new to all of this, but I must admit, I am incredibly happy I decided to pick up my first Fountain Pen.

I picked up a Lamy 2000 and I am looking for the perfect bottle of pure dark "Black" ink for this amazing Lamy 2000. I grabbed the Extra Fine.

So any recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Looking forward to your responses!

Thank you all,

– Jon

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Sandy1

• Arkanabar

• dcwaites

• jppv

:W2FPN:

Hi,

Please take a look at this prior Topic: https://www.fountainpennetwork.com/forum/topic/248282-darkest-black-ink/?p=2712101

As there is no Black aniline dye, such inks 'fake it' by conjuring blends of other dyes. For the most part that works very well indeed.

(Noodler's offers an array of Black inks, and Aurora is often mentioned.)

From such a narrow nib, minor variations in Hue are unlikely to be noticed - readers other than Member ethernautrix will perceive it as Black.

Part of the trick is to keep the line quality very high - very crisp edges. No feathering or wooly lines. Keep your nib running on the sweet spot.

(That is due to our way of seeing: the edge of the line is where the Black ink and White paper 'merge' and become Grey - a limitation of our acuity. So the crisper the edge the more Black it looks.)

As aniline dye inks are translucent, to be full-on Black the paper should be thoroghly dyed - just short of bleed-through, yet keeping the line crisp. Balance the absorption of the ink+paper+pen combo.

> Also, the ink should be in the paper, not on the surface, so no shimmer or sheen or sequins. A low smear/dry time gives a rough indication of such.