Bent Feeder Fin

Penman26

Hi,

I am actually new to using fountain pens, I received a Parker Sonnet fountain pen as a gift and I was doing some research online to know what inks I should and should not use, proper maintenance and such. I took the pen apart for understanding how to properly clean it and I notice that one of the fins on the feeder is slightly bent on the edge, I was curious as to if this would affect the pens operation and if I need to replace the feeder, or if this is something that can happen and it is nothing to worry about. Would it be possible to remove the nib and buy a replacement feeder if necessary, and if so where?

Thank you.

post-137298-0-29320400-1497514222_thumb.jpg

post-137298-0-17805500-1497514241_thumb.jpg

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• PaulS

• tamiya

• Penman26

• pajaro

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

some of these nib units are not cheap, so if replacement not essential then don't. Can't really see too well in your pix, but the obvious test would be to insert a cartridge or fill the converter, and use the pen over some days - this should tell you if there's a problem or not. Welcome to the FPN by the way :)

I don't see anything in either of those pictures that would cause any kind of problems at.

i see one... -_-

the fact that a brandnew pen was pulled apart BEFORE being tested once, so OP doesn't even know how well/ad the pen performed from its factory-state

with no baseline reading, how's OP gunna know if he's reassembled it correctly & performing better/worse than before :huh:

Nothing wrong with the feed's fins... probably just a little squished when stuffed inside the section. Fins are just there to maximise surface area, to store some ink to buffer the flow should the nib suddenly make high demands.

Also wasn't aware Parker sold feeds as spareparts... if OP knows where to buy some, pray tell! i could use some Sonnet parts... :blush: