Best Pen To Put A Noodler's Flex Into?

InkyPoetess

Hi!

I am relatively new to fountain pens and would like to try out a flex pen, without a huge investment. Initially, I added an Ahab to my wishlist, but the reviews make it seem a bit too finicky for my comfort level. Now, I'm considering buying a replacement Noodler's flex nib and putting it into some other pen. (the nibs come in #2 or #6). Are there any pens at $15 or less which would be good to frankenpen into a flex?

Thanks!

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ac12

• SoulSamurai

• Drone

• InkyPoetess

Hi InkyPoetess, Welcome to the Fountain Pen Network :W2FPN:

I would not recommend putting a Noodler's semi-flex #6 nib (which means a nib that fits over a 6 millimeter diameter feed) into a modern pen. You will probably end-up being frustrated because the pen will not write properly, especially when flexed. This is because modern pens have plastic feeds, which cannot supply enough ink to the nib to keep up with demand when it when flexed. The results will be that the nib will railroad or skip when it is flexed.

To increase ink-flow, the Noodler's Ahab and Konrad pens have feeds that are made out of a hard rubber material called Ebonite. Ebonite feeds tend to attract water-based ink much more than a material like ABS plastic, this increases ink flow. Once upon a time, almost all pens came with ebonite feeds.

Rather than try to transplant a flex nib, I suggest you get started by taking a look at the inexpensive pens that come with "Flex" nibs over at Fountain Pen Revolution (FPR). Here's a link to their U.S. Web site:

https://fprevolutionusa.com/

Most of the FPR pens that come with flex nibs also have ebonite feeds. You can also buy flex nibs and ebonite feeds alone at FPR when it comes time for you to start experimenting. The selection is larger at FPR than you will find from Noodler's.