Plastic Ink?

bgordebak

I just have the greenest ink idea. I want to make a pigment based ink for dip pens from recycled plastic dust.

I found out if I dilute water with alcohol I can get a solution with plastic's density. (I'm a beginner, bear with me.) I just need a good binding agent to use with water, alcohol and plastic dust.

Do you think it's feasible? If so, what would be a good binding agent?

Edit: sorry for the triple post, my wifi acted strange.

Edited by bgordebak

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• bgordebak

• Astronymus

• Sandy1

• AL01

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

What you need is a chemist.

I guess so. Although some pigment based inks are fairly easy to make, I don't think I will pursue this.

But it's a good idea I think. If someone made recycled plastic ink (plastink?) I 'd definitely use it.

If anyone knows how to do that, please go ahead and do it.

Hi,

Please take a look at the Magic Color Lunar White to serve as a prototype media, in which to suspend the pigment. http://www.saa.co.uk/paint-colour/acrylic-paint-ink/magic-color-acrylic-ink

It seems to me that the trick is to get recycled 'plastic dust' [uniformly] ultra fine and keep it distributed in the media: we have glitter-ish FP inks with bling bits, so I don't think one needs to go nano.

Chemist/s certainly come in handy from time to time, if only to make great coffee...

Bye,

S1

Edited by Sandy1

The only time you have too much fuel is when you're on fire.

Hi,

Please take a look at the Magic Color Lunar White to serve as a prototype media, in which to suspend the pigment. http://www.saa.co.uk/paint-colour/acrylic-paint-ink/magic-color-acrylic-ink

It seems to me that the trick is to get recycled 'plastic dust' [uniformly] ultra fine and keep it distributed in the media: we have glitter-ish FP inks with bling bits, so I don't think one needs to go nano.