My First Ink

craftmanhk

Hello,

I am new to the fountain pen world, but have just learned shorthand am tired of problems with ball point pens. I bought me a Noodlers Ahab Pearl and now must get ink. I want something waterproof, a friendly black, something to dry fast, something that wont feather and penetrate too deep, but very readable. What are some recommendations for me? I know nothing about ink. Thanks in advance!

-Heber

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• craftmanhk

• Arkanabar

• Noihvo

• ErrantSmudge

I'd have a look at Noodler's Heart of Darkness. A lot of people will probably point you at the standard Noodler's Black, but I find that HoD dries faster and doesn't smudge (the downside of bulletproof -- i.e., cellulose reactive inks) is that only the part actually in contact with the paper will bond with the cellulose...). At this point it's probably my go-to black ink.

I have other blacks, but HoD has the edge for black without a lot of spread IMO; mind you, there are some inks that are "blacker" but HoD is the best all around performer and is still pretty black (the blackest and fastest drying black in my experience is Organics Studio Charles Darwin and it's "fall into a black hole black" -- BUT it had horrible spread and bleedthrough issues, even in a pen with a fine hooded nib).

Ruth Morrisson aka inkstainedruth

"It's very nice, but frankly, when I signed that list for a P-51, what I had in mind was a fountain pen."

Second the recommendation for Noodler's Heart of Darkness. My experience is that it dries faster than Noodler's standard black, but Noodler's standard black is better behaved (less showthrough) on cheap papers.

Thanks for the help guys!! Noihvo, is that darker color you switched to Heart of Darkness?

Edited by craftmanhk