How To Win A Pen In Ebay Auction?

strelnikoff

Hello all!

These questions come from my recent frustration ... basically :)

Recently (few days ago) I tried to bid on three pens on eBay. I am a newb on eBay, and I thought it will go smoothly. I know how much specific pen is worth, I know how much I'm willing to pay and overpay (in this case). However, I lost on all bids. In the last seconds!!!! Now, since it is about vintage Waterman's pens, I consider this to be pen related topic/question.

Question 1: How do you win in an auction??? It cannot be that I'm that slow.

Question 2: if there is an auction going on for a pen, and there is like... 5 days left - can I offer $$$ to seller directly and forgo the bidding drama? If she/he accepts ok, if not - ok too.

Question 3: I've noticed that some of the auctions on eBay bring the price of certain pens at least 1/3 if not 2/3... 100% higher than conventional value of the pen (on the market) is. Does this affects the market price?

Reason I'm asking Question 3 is - if a precedent is set for ... let say Waterman 52 (common pen around) with decent flex, and pen gets sold in an auction for 100 USD or 200 USD more than price floating around the interweb, will this mean all Waterman's are slowly (or quickly) going up in prices?

Thank you !

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• strelnikoff

• Bo Bo Olson

• ParkerDuofold

• Goudy

No.

"""Question 2: if there is an auction going on for a pen, and there is like... 5 days left - can I offer $$$ to seller directly and forgo the bidding drama? If she/he accepts ok, if not - ok too."""

Is not allowed, even if done. Not worth the time and effort. Why should they take less for what could go for more?

Never bid even numbers.....never $20 or even $22 but $23.85 that gets rid of the 50 and 75 cent bids. $27.85.