Visconti Opera Black Guilloche

visvamitra

Some people don’t like Italian design. It’s hard to understand but it seems Italians aren’t trusted when it comes to engineering functional products. Many successful managers in corporate world usually have at least a few Italian shoes and suits but they travel in german or japanese cars. Also among fountain pen aficionados there’s not a lot of trust toward Italian brands. I don’t get it.

I love Italian design and style. My experience with Italian fountain pens was good so far and if you’ll ask me about my favorite fountain pens three of them would be Italian.

opera_3.jpg?w=940

opera_1.jpg?w=940

opera_9.jpg?w=940

Visconti Opera is among them. I can state it with certitude as I’ve been using this pen for approximately three years.

Opera line was introduced in 2003 and managed to get acclaim due to unique design and shape being part of Visconti’s “Squaring the Circle” inspiration. A profile of the pen looks like an octagon with every other side of the shape being rounded. It provides subtle faceting. Throughout the years there have been a number of variations on the line, featuring a wide variety of different materials and slight design differences. Until 2015 Opera pens were made mainly of plastic. At the moment they can be also purchased in so called avional (aluminum alloy) version. The newest ones feature tubular nib and are, in my opinion, much uglier than the first version.

I’ve managed to find a bargain-priced Black Guilloche model. Like most Visconti pens, the manufacturing of the pen body is flawless. The materials are smooth and clean, parts are connected very well and the cap and barrel line up nicely. The body of the pen is high gloss resin with Rhodium plated trims and is finely etched with a pinstripe guilloche pattern.

opera_20.jpg?w=940

opera_21.jpg?w=940

opera.jpg?w=940