Long Exam - What Nib Size For Carene?

OliwierEB

Hi. In two weeks time I will be sitting seven exams where I will need to write some 5000 words in 2 1/2 hours. I want to buy the Waterman Carene, would you recommend the Fine or Medium? Currently, I've been using the Hemisphere (Fine) for the past four years but I found it scratchy and quite slow, my handwriting can get quite large when writing quickly which makes it a little tiring Thank you :)

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• OliwierEB

• ac12

• Flounder

• Left FPN

General rules for smoothness.

• Pen
    • The wider the nib the smoother it will write.
    • Note that there is NO STANDARD for nib widths. An old US Parker M = current Lamy F. Pilot M = Lamy F.
    • Weight. For me, I prefer a LIGHT pen for long writing sessions. The light pen is less tiring on my hand than a heavy pen. Light as in less than 20 grams, preferably around 15 grams.
  • Pen and Paper
    • The narrower the nib, the more sensitive it will be to the surface texture of the paper.
    • I have paper that I will NOT use a F nib on, as it feels too scratchy with the narrow F nibs.
    • For F or XF nibs, you should use SMOOTH HARD paper.
    • Note that some people prefer to use a XF or F nib on JUNK paper, to reduce the amount of ink put on the paper. But you have to accept the scratchy feel of the XF/F nib on the less than smooth paper.
  • Ink flow.
    • You need enough ink flow to lubricate the tip on the paper.
    • The dryer the pen, the more friction, more friction between the nib and paper = scratchy feel.
  • You.
    • The harder you press the pen into the paper, the more friction between the nib and paper = scratchy feel.
    • Lighten up on your grip of the pen. This will reduce the muscle stress in your hand and arms, allowing you to write longer.

PS, what kind of exam?

When I sat for my professional exam, I printed with a pencil.