Pens To Buy In Japan

essayfaire

Hi, I'm new to FPN and apologize it this is the wrong forum. A friend is going to Japan as part of a scheduled college trip; she will probably be at some stationery stores but not be able to plan outings to pen-specific stores. I was wondering if there are brands, models, or colors which are available in Japan but not the US or ate cconsiderably cheaper there. I find my Sailor F a bit scratchy, like my Pilot Varsity collection for what it is (I've been thinking about the Vanishing Point), and my Montblanc F and find the Xinhaos surprisingly decent for the price. My old Duofold is a pain that I don't use very often because it runs out of ink too quickly.

Either brands or colors that don't export but are common there or good deals are what I am looking for - I want to limit myself to pens that are under $200 and are easy to find but are a pleasure to write with. I feel like there's a difference between me buying another Japanese pen and having one carried over personally. Thanks for any advice or suggestions!

Festina lente

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• essayfaire

• gerigo

• Algester

• Voiren

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Essayfaire

First, it's easiest for the person you plan to send to buy with a specific list of pens to get. That way, they are not trying to make a decision for you. For pen enthusiast, Tokyo is awesome because there are SO many pens to select from in a store, but that also translates to headaches and too bewildering of a selection for someone not familiar with shopping in Tokyo for pens.

So go look through the websites of all the big 3 pen makers in Japan. Search carefully to see what's available in Japan.

http://sailorshop.jp/

http://www.pilot.co.jp/products/pen/fountain/

http://www.platinum-pen.co.jp/fountain_top.html